Chicken Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I’m relatively new to chickens. We ended up with 8 day old chicks, they are now 13ish weeks. 3 roosters, one went to the soup pot. We have a clear head rooster in the flock. I know they court the hens.. this guy does not. Is this an adolescent thing? He isn’t over persistent, they can get away.. he just goes on to the next one, etc.

But down to the main point. We had to take 4 5 year old hens from my husbands uncle in a hurry. I put them in the coop last night. This morning all was well with the hens, but this rooster is an ass. The new hens are going right back at him, not tolerating his crap, so they are what I would I say is full on fighting. (I could be wrong) I separated him this morning into a dog run I have. I didn’t let it go on long, as I don’t want blood shed.

What are my options? Is this normal? The lower on the totem pole rooster got his ass kicked when he went after them and took right off.
I also have 12 more chicks that need to go should go out in a couple weeks, I’ve had them in the dog run and the head roo tries to go at them through the fence, one again the hens don’t care. I will not be putting them in the coop at night, I will continue to separate them for the next few weeks and let them out when I am home for a couple days when the time comes.

·
Administrator
20,537 Posts
Yep, it's normal. As far as your rooster is concerned those new hens are interlopers and need to be driven off. If you can keep him in the dog pen for a few days while the girls intermingle with your existing flock, things should go more smoothly when you let him in with them again.

·
Super Moderator
3,644 Posts
Welcome to the forum! Yes, they will sort themselves out in a few days.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·