Chicken Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
I'm a newbie to this forum. I'm not a chicken newbie but what I found today threw me. It looks like a chicken tried to lay an egg, but failed. I found two pieces, one doesn't look anything like an egg and the other looks like .. heck, I don't even know how to describe it.

We had four chickens but two disappeared mysteriously last year. 3 of the four always were together but fortunately, one of them stayed with the chicken that was an outcast after the dog got it and broke it's leg. I set the leg and kept the chicken inside for a few weeks and her leg healed fine. But she was shunned by the other three. Since then, the one chicken who was not with her group hasn't laid any eggs.

The color of this thing makes me think that it might have been her attempt at laying? Any help is appreciated. This is gross!

Thanks!

Lisa

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
4,234 Posts
Thanks. I knew I shouldn't have let them eat earthworms. I'll get some antibiotic tomorrow.

Lisa
Ecoli is often present in the environment, it may not be the earthworms specifically.

Reactions: dawg53

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Ecoli is often present in the environment, it may not be the earthworms specifically.
Sorry about that. My devices would not show a keyboard so the replies couldn't be typed.
Is there any particular antibiotic I should pick up? I assume I dose their water?

Thanks again, y'all are so helpful :)

·
Premium Member
3,721 Posts
Amoxicillin will treat ecoli infections as well other types of infections in poultry. Here's where you can purchase it as a fish medication without prescription. Dosage is one 250mg capsule given orally twice a day for 5 days. All you need is a one time purchase.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hi again :)