Chicken Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just came home from work to find all five of my sweet chickens dead. Something tore through the wire screen and killed each one and left them there? This all happened between 7 am and 4 pm. I am devastated. Any ideas as to what this could have been???

·
Premium Member
379 Posts
I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your pet chickens. I can't imagine how much this hurts. I have no experience with this as my flock are still chicks but from what I have read it sounds like it could possibly have been a dog. Again so so sorry!!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks, we are also thinking it was a dog. I'll be making sure the coop is extra safe before getting any more babies!

·
Premium Member
379 Posts
We live in the country and there are loose dogs roaming. They have already killed a neighbors chickens. The owners are aware and are of the attitude that dogs should not be confined so we are having to build a run and coop that is a fortress. We also have coyotes, cougars, racoons, snakes, hawks and the list goes on. We will put up a motion detector light, a trail cam and a baby monitor so we can hear what's going on inside the hen house. I don't know if the Nite Guard product works or not but I'd like to get something like that as well. These are ideas I've read about so I hope some of it helps you as well. Good luck with your improvements and I hope your heart heals soon.

·
Registered
321 Posts