Chicken Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hi everyone, I’m new to raising backyard chickens, and purchased my first chicks a couple of weeks ago from our local Tractor Supply Store. I am fairly confident that at least one of the labels on the tubs was wrong. I am hoping someone might be able to help me identify the breed, gender, and age of these chicks? I am pretty sure I have a light brahma pullet, two Easter Egger pullets, two Isa Brown pullets, and a Sapphire Gem pullet. I have no idea what the black chick is,. I thought I was buying a Barred Rock pullet, but this one has feathered legs/feet. Anyone have any idea what breed, gender, and age it might be? Maybe a maran of some sort? Do you think the others were labeled correctly? I am more than happy to post more pics if that will help. Thank you in advance!
Bird Plant community Beak Vegetation Plant
Bird Plant community Beak Vegetation Plant
Bird Beak Grass Feather Ducks, geese and swans
Beak Chicken Plant Phasianidae Dog breed
Bird Plant community Beak Vegetation Feather

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Look at how much bigger it is than the rest.

@ChickenBiscuts and @fuzzies are very good when peeps are that young.
Thank you! I guess I incorrectly thought that maybe he was just older than the others, even though they were all purchased at the same time. I would really love to know the cockerel's breed. I want to be the best chicken owner I can be, so I have been trying to research the various breeds and learn about their individual needs and requirements. I guess I had better change his name. Bertha will be Bert. :)

·
Administrator
23,486 Posts
LOL You wouldn't believe how many names have had to be changed or folks said to heck with it and let them stay the same.

It's very possible that little roo is older than the rest. He's more feathered out too.