Quail Week old button quails...

Discussion in 'Gamebirds' started by robopetz, Nov 18, 2012.

1. robopetz

robopetz New Member

Hi all! I just picked up 3 button quails that are a week old. First off they are the most cutest tiniest hatchlings ever!! Lol I found a guy that had too many and wanted to give me 14 of them. We originally wanted only one but then decided to get 2 so the one wouldn't get lonely. Then the guy said hell what would one more do? And it's really hard for me to say no when it comes to animals. So there you go, I ended up with 3. One looks silver one looks brown with a white head and wings and the other looks dark brown. I have never had quails never researched quails other than what they eat and what kinda housing they needed. So I'm really new to this. Anyone got tips for me? Anyone else have button quails as pets? They will be indoor pets like my silkie. So I guess my silkie has 3 lil friends now. I keep them separate for now though as the button quails are way too tiny to be with the silkie.

Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. kahiltna_flock

kahiltna_flock New Member

I have nothing to help you but they are really cute. Your silkie will probably enjoy some bird company :)

3. robopetz

robopetz New Member

Thanks! Ya, the silkie will have 3 tails fallowing her probably.

Sad though. We discovered that the silver/grey one had one eye shut. We didn't even realize it when we picked them out. I have no clue what to do. It is a slight bit swollen or bigger than the other eye. Hope the lil fella is ok.

4. 7chicks

7chicks New Member

They're cute as can be! You'll have to keep us posted. I'm of no use for info on these little wee ones. Someone who does though will bump on here I'm sure. That chicken math got ya didn't it! One = 3. Yep. That's good ole chicken math for ya. ;)

5. robopetz

robopetz New Member

Haha yes the chicken math, too funny!