Chicken Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm living in Pittsburgh as of now and I was hoping to get three ameraucana hens from day old chicks, though I've heard you can only get those in large quantities? I was also wondering if they were winter hardy or if not what breeds would be ok in Pittsburgh weather with only 3 hens? Im very new at all of this and although I've been grazing the Internet I value experience much more. Also what is everyone's favorite hatchery?

·
Registered
839 Posts
I can't help with the favorite hatchery since I bought mine all locally. I have an Americana and a couple EE's. mine are very cold hearty, I live in Alaska. I actually like them the best since they don't have large combs and waddles to worry about getting frost bite.

·
Registered
691 Posts
I'm living in Pittsburgh as of now and I was hoping to get three ameraucana hens from day old chicks, though I've heard you can only get those in large quantities? I was also wondering if they were winter hardy or if not what breeds would be ok in Pittsburgh weather with only 3 hens? Im very new at all of this and although I've been grazing the Internet I value experience much more. Also what is everyone's favorite hatchery?
Welcome & Greetings from Ohio....the Buckeye state!!!
I'm talking the "Buckeye Chicken" NOT the worthless nut!!!

I'd recommend finding a reputable breeder rather than using a hatchery....it really depends on your goals and objectives! If you intend to breed them down the road hatchery stock is NOT in your best interest.:)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I can't help with the favorite hatchery since I bought mine all locally. I have an Americana and a couple EE's. mine are very cold hearty, I live in Alaska. I actually like them the best since they don't have large combs and waddles to worry about getting frost bite.
WOW in Alaska? I'm sure they could handle Pittsburgh then! :D

·
Registered
3 Posts