Thinking about chickens specifically ameraucanas

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by ahoffmann44, Jan 7, 2013.

1. ahoffmann44

ahoffmann44 New Member

I'm living in Pittsburgh as of now and I was hoping to get three ameraucana hens from day old chicks, though I've heard you can only get those in large quantities? I was also wondering if they were winter hardy or if not what breeds would be ok in Pittsburgh weather with only 3 hens? Im very new at all of this and although I've been grazing the Internet I value experience much more. Also what is everyone's favorite hatchery?

2. kahiltna_flock

kahiltna_flock New Member

I can't help with the favorite hatchery since I bought mine all locally. I have an Americana and a couple EE's. mine are very cold hearty, I live in Alaska. I actually like them the best since they don't have large combs and waddles to worry about getting frost bite.

3. BuckeyeChickens

BuckeyeChickens New Member

Welcome & Greetings from Ohio....the Buckeye state!!!
    I'm talking the "Buckeye Chicken" NOT the worthless nut!!!

I'd recommend finding a reputable breeder rather than using a hatchery....it really depends on your goals and objectives! If you intend to breed them down the road hatchery stock is NOT in your best interest.:)

4. ahoffmann44

ahoffmann44 New Member

WOW in Alaska? I'm sure they could handle Pittsburgh then! :D

5. ahoffmann44

ahoffmann44 New Member

Buckeye thanks for the advice! Though I haven't found any breeders here in pa with ameraucanas :\ do you know of any out of pa worth the drive?

6. 7chicks

7chicks New Member

I get all my chickens locally. Feedmill a half hour from my house is able to order as little as one chick to 6 month old pullets. They order from a hatchery in Wisconsin. My Ameraucana I just got from a friend end of Sept. and this is her first winter. She does just fine as the rest of my girls. I live in Upper Michigan where it does get quite cold for the winter.

7. BuckeyeChickens