Sustainable Meat Chickens?

Discussion in 'Meat Chickens' started by Mama Hen, May 26, 2020.

1. Mama Hen

Mama Hen New Member

Hi all!
    We currently have a small flock of Freedom Rangers that are roughly 6 weeks old, and so far we really like them. They seem to be growing well, and have sweet personalities. My question is, has anyone ever hatched FR’s from their own flock? I have been trying to research it a little, and read somewhere that the chicks would not be the same as the parents- they would be a throwback to a previous ancestor. Has anyone tried this? Even if they don’t retain all the qualities of a FR, would they still make a feasible meat chicken? I am new to meat chickens, and although I know that Cornish X is probably the most economical, I am more interested in seeing if there are any more sustainable meat chicken options... something that I can possibly keep a handful of, and hatch out chicks, but will still grow fast to a good size. Any thoughts would be appreciated! Thanks!

2. robin416

robin416 Administrator Staff Member

Welcome to the forum. Looks like we still have some gremlins in the forum because I posted earlier and I see it's not here.

I said I would reach out to someone who might have had them.

I've been thinking about this since I read your question. I'm having trouble understanding how it is that they won't breed true. If the hatchery that developed them had to go through all the recreation of the breed then they would have been out of business by now if that was true.

Some of what I did read mentioned protein amounts. Using too high of a protein level is more than likely going to keep them from maturing slow enough that they would be capable of breeding.

Mama Hen likes this.

3. Mama Hen

Mama Hen New Member

Thanks for getting back to me! That’s exactly what I was wondering too, if they don’t breed true.