Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
10 week old cochin chick was stuck in the fence by her leg and wing now her leg sticks straight out could it be broke or just sore did not feel any broke bones but i am new at all this and now she is in the house by her self and she seems to be getting strong day by day we are going on day 3 and she is more active. but still not using that leg and advice?

Attachments

·
Premium Member
3,157 Posts
The only advice I can give is to keep watching it. If it gets bad I'd cull her, if it doesnt seem to bother her I'd let it go and see if it heals. She may have just sprained it . Time will tell.

·
Flocker
1,588 Posts
She may have pulled it out of place. Put a low dose aspirin in her water, and see if that helps her try to get around. If she puts weight on it, then it's just sore. If not, she may have pulled it out of place. There is a thread around here about someone putting a joint back in place, let me hunt it. I'll be right back...

·
Registered
72 Posts
Do you have access to some Vet RX. You might try gently rubbing that on the area as well. The warmth that it would generate might help her naturally relocate her hip as well. Be sure to warm up the bottle of Vet RX per instructions. And I know I may sound like the little old chicken lady that I am. A Moist heating pad might also help her applied gently to that area. I haven't read the thread that fuzzie butt referred to that info may already be there. Good luck! Hope this helps and have a blessed day.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
it doesnt feel like iy is out of place but im no vet. she is puting a little weight on it now but it is still sticking straight out

·
Registered
7 Posts