Chicken Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to chickens and I'm about 75% done building my chicken enclosure which is a 8'x16' run with a 4'x8' coop for Approx 8 chickens. So, I'm now trying to decide what to use as a brooder. I saw a 100 gal Rubbermaid Stock tank measuring 31 in. x 53 in. x 25 in. at Tractor Supply and was wondering if this would make a good brooder because on e done I can easily repurpose it. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

·
441 Posts
Sure you can use a stock tank, but they are a bit pricey. I have a brooder that I have brooded so many chicks in I've lost count of the number. We started with a kiddie pool and various pieces of PVC we had laying around. We had to buy the PVC "T's and "elbows", but that cost us less than $3. The PVC frame is then wrapped in heavy duty plastic as a draft guard. When we're through with it it gets disassembled and goes back into storage.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Bird_slave said:
Sure you can use a stock tank, but they are a bit pricey. I have a brooder that I have brooded so many chicks in I've lost count of the number. We started with a kiddie pool and various pieces of PVC we had laying around. We had to buy the PVC "T's and "elbows", but that cost us less than $3. The PVC frame is then wrapped in heavy duty plastic as a draft guard. When we're through with it it gets disassembled and goes back into storage.
That's a pretty clever idea!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
7chicks said:
That's what they use at my TSC for the chicks - the stock tanks. Works fine for them every year.
That's what gave me the idea but those chicks don't stay in them that long before being sold so I thought I'd throw the question out their about using them more long term.

·
Registered
120 Posts