Chicken Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My chicks are around 3-4 weeks (I have 10) and I want them to be reasonably friendly once they are grown. So with that in mind I have been trying to pick them up when I check on them throughout the day. They don't like it yet, but I've only had them since Monday so I think that's to be expected. We have cows, but this is my first time raising chickens. I am wondering if there is anything else I should be doing to help with this goal?

Thanks!

·
Administrator
18,666 Posts
There is no good answer to your question. Breed and individual bird personality play a big part in how much they like their humans.

You can always bribe them with treats. At their age I would try lettuce. Its really nothing more than water and will not take the place of the feed that they need right now.

I've got a Silkie rooster that's going to be nine this Summer. He's been picked up many times in that nine years yet every time I have to pick him up its like the first time he's ever been touched. My other eight year old Silkies are fine with being picked up. That's an example of different personalities.

·
Registered
1,618 Posts
I find it's easier to not force them to like you by picking them up and instead trick them into liking you by sitting with them and offering food. Eventually they associate you with awesome treats and look forward to your arrival, then they start not minding being petted, then they begin to enjoy being picked up. They might never enjoy being snuggled, and some breeds/chickens might always be stand offish, but most will learn good things come from your lap.