Chicken Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently found a snake in the coop stealing eggs. Is there a natural way to keep them out of the coop? I don't want to use poison cause they free graze outside the pen. Any suggestions will be helpful.

·
Registered
558 Posts
I'm a newbie, and my girls aren't even old enough to lay, but I am thinking that the electric chicken fencing that I have seen ads for, or getting a smaller mesh (1/2 inch hardware cloth or smaller?) might discourage snake trespassing?

·
Registered
558 Posts
One of the forums here is "Parasites, Pests, & Predators", give that section a try!

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Keep the surrounding grass short. For screen/fencing use 1/4" hardware. They can still get through 1/2 inch. Try to make sure any gaps are sealed. That's all I know of to do.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Mothballs or even a little bit of diesel around the outside if the coop will work. I live in south louisiana and snakes are a constant. But those two things work pretty good

·
overrunwithroos
88 Posts
Have you seen the snake? I'm wondering how big it is? And what type of fencing do you have around your coop? It has to be a good size snake girth wise not length to eat an egg unless its a bantam egg. My bfs son owns snakes and I've learned alot about them.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Years ago an old-timer told me that he put wooden eggs in the nest boxes and drilled holes between the boxes. The holes were large enough for a snake but too small for the egg. He said that a snake would swallow the wooden egg then get stuck in the hole. He said that snakes can't back up. I don't know if it is true but the old-timer was convincing.

·
Registered
558 Posts