Chicken Forum banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My flock has dry pox and all seemed fine. (it's been 3 weeks since 1st signs). Some of them are free of spots now and combs are once again bright red. yesterday I noticed one of my dominecker roosters sitting out in the rain. I went to pick him up and he was limping. I checked for bumble foot, etc and there are no visible injuries. My dominant blue maran rooster has been being very aggressive towards my other 2 roosters so I think he beat him up. I did notice a sweet, but stinky smell on him though so I was thinking maybe canker...
I brought him in and he is eating/drinking, though not much. I put poultry cell vitamins in his water, and vetericyn on his pox spots. He is very weak and not seeming to get much better. Also, the smell has gone away. Suggestions? I am very new to keeping chickens and at a loss.

·
Administrator
24,681 Posts
You're not doing bad for being new on looking at all the obvious things.

There is a possibility he got his butt handed to him by the other roo. Try dissolving a 325 mg aspirin in a gallon of water to see if he perks up. If he's in pain and lost a battle it might be the problem.

I would do a really good hands on exam of him though. Check everywhere for any open wounds. Under his wings, under his tail. Hidden areas. That sick sweet smell is disturbing because it implies rot. Gangrene type rot.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You're not doing bad for being new on looking at all the obvious things.

There is a possibility he got his butt handed to him by the other roo. Try dissolving a 325 mg aspirin in a gallon of water to see if he perks up. If he's in pain and lost a battle it might be the problem.

I would do a really good hands on exam of him though. Check everywhere for any open wounds. Under his wings, under his tail. Hidden areas. That sick sweet smell is disturbing because it implies rot. Gangrene type rot.