Serama Colors?

Discussion in 'Breeds & Genetics' started by WeeLittleChicken, Aug 31, 2012.

1. WeeLittleChicken

WeeLittleChicken Active Member

I'm new to chickens (and Seramas!) but I come from a breeding background. I know one of the charms of Seramas is the fact they can throw so many colors and I don't really wish to change that but I do want to learn their genetics and make educated guesses on what chicks I'll get like I used to do with the other animals I once bred (who also came in an abundance of colors and patterns.) I realize that this whole not breeding true thing is only a half truth - the colors have to come from somewhere, a long list of recessive genes I am guessing. That being said, as I am new to chickens, I am having difficulty identifying the colors which is the first step of learning genetics. I know what my adult rooster is - black, and have some guesses on my adult hen, black-tailed white? (Or is she something else as she some black streaks and the vaguest yellow hue around her head?) As for the chicks I recently brought home - I haven't the foggiest! They are six weeks old. Here's photos of everyone - and if you can't tell until the birds are older please feel free to tell me that too.

My adult pair:
    [​IMG]

And here are the chicks:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. cogburn

cogburn New Member

Looks like the chicks are 2 Partridge colored pullets and a Mottled cockerel. Here's what the pullets will look like...

Attached Files:

3. cogburn

cogburn New Member

4. earlyt89

earlyt89 New Member

Whooooo they are pretty. I want some.

5. WeeLittleChicken