Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are getting our pullets in two weeks and in preparation to our new girls (our only girls, just three, we are total newbies), we've decided on washed construction sand for the runs and maybe inside the raised coop too. I'd love to ear from anyone who has used this medium for a large or small flock. How's it working? What do you do in the wind? I'm concerned that the dust will harm the chickens. Thanks for any thoughts.

·
Registered
764 Posts
We are. But we are newbies too. I follow a blog of a lady who raises chickens and she swears by sand! My husband wanted to do deep litter. So we compromised. Sand during the summer. Switch to deep litter in the fall.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Sand is an absolute great thing to raise chickens on. I use it and I have never bought grit in my life. It is an excellent use of the sand and the chickens. Love it. Sometimes dust can harm them and cause respiratory problems but sand is pretty heavy and doesn't blow in the wind too much if it is pretty large grit with lots of rocks. The fine grit, however, might be more of a problem. If you do have a problem with the sand blowing, spray it lightly with a water hose every now and then to help keep it on the ground.

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Good compromise! The farmer we are getting our chickens from says go with sand, as they are used to free ranging on his ranch and love being in the dirt. It doesn't get too cold here in So Cal, but we've been known to get a hail storm or two, so maybe shavings in the coop for warmth. Thanks for your thoughts.

·
Registered
764 Posts