Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
MommaHen
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Our new coop was just finished last night! It was a family project by myself, my hubby, and our 2 boys ages 5 & 12. After looking at hundreds online, I came up with this design. Any suggestions are welcome as I am new to raising chickens! :)

Attachments

·
1,466 Posts
i would put the feeder inside or in a way that wind can't blow rain into it
wet feed can be trouble
you will see what parts of it work & what changes need to be made once it's "in use"

good luck
piglett

·
MommaHen
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
piglett said:
i would put the feeder inside or in a way that wind can't blow rain into it
wet feed can be trouble
you will see what parts of it work & what changes need to be made once it's "in use"

good luck
piglett
I thought about that! I also want to have a door or something to close off their entrance (for cleaning,etc)

·
Premium Member
4,193 Posts
If that spool is a perch, I'd change it to a 2 x 4 with the flat part up so the can cover their feet with feathers when it's cold. That perch is too small. And the ramp going in looks a little long and thin. Could be from the pic though. Otherwise, nice job. Looks easy to use, clean and it's painted real nice. How many occupants to you anticipate?

·
MommaHen
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Energyvet said:
If that spool is a perch, I'd change it to a 2 x 4 with the flat part up so the can cover their feet with feathers when it's cold. That perch is too small. And the ramp going in looks a little long and thin. Could be from the pic though. Otherwise, nice job. Looks easy to use, clean and it's painted real nice. How many occupants to you anticipate?
The ramp measures about a foot wide. The photo does make it look kind of small. The whole coop measures 8x5. As far as the perch it could easily be replaced. I will have to experiment with our scrap wood. Thanks for the suggestions!