Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
336 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm VERY new to chickens (so new that I don't have them yet...getting them on Monday) so I was wondering if anyone has some good advice of any kind.
Thanks
Olivia

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Hi Olivia. What kind of advice are you looking for? Lots of it here so give us a little idea of what you need to know.

·
Registered
468 Posts
hi and welcome! my very best advice is to read read read! i swear i read 15 books before i got mine! they have some really Great books like Storeys guide to raising chickens, or the chicken whisper guide to backyard chickens. first thing is if your getting new born chicks you need a brooder with a heat lamp.a red heat lamp is best. the temp for new born is 95 the first week dropping the temp by 5 degrees each week. get a thermometer to check the temp. you will want a warm side and a cool side where they can get away from the heat. they let you know if they are cold by huddling under the light, if hot they will pant or ruffle feathers and be far away from heat source. you want them evenly dispersed happily chirping not loud distress chirps. they need feed and water. put rocks or marbles in water to prevent drowning. i feed mine medicated feed to prevent cocci but that's a personal choice. you can use non medicated if you wish. i use pine shavings as litter, do not use ceder it will kill the chicks. i use a huge box as a brooder its actually a watermelon bin from the grocery store for free! its what the watermelons are shipped in. the walls are tall and thick and strong! i pick up the poo a few times a day and completely clean shavings once a week. keep fresh water check often because they dirty it easily. i keep food and water on boards to keep it out of litter .i Hope this helps and best wishes! show pics when they come!

·
Registered
468 Posts