Chicken Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello and thanks for adding me! I'm new to the chicken arena, I have been keeping chickens for 3 years but this is the first time that we have had baby chicks from ours. I have been rescuing these chicks from the pen as the older chickens ( not mom) have been attacking them as they can't keep up with mom. The first chick that was born is the only one that can keep up and that she is protecting. Now I have one with open areas on its head and neck and cannot open its eyes, another with weak legs, another with its side under the wing exposed and raw from being malled and one more that that mom was just pecking at. My question is should i try and retrieve the last chick? I would really appreciate any advice on helping these little ones. I have the 4 that were rescued in the house and finally calm. More eggs to hatch.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Welcome from Florida.
My wife is the chicken whisperer, I'm just the hired hand.
What my wife does when she gets (or hatches) new chicks is to keep them by themselves for about 4 to 6 weeks until they are bigger.
We have separate pens/coops for different flocks inside the large general area. It's easier to control the birds, and keep roosters separated.

Reactions: robin416

·
Registered
106 Posts
@ricepaddydaddy, dang guy it's been a while since you've visited.
Yeah, I know, stammers RPD, his face turning red as he looks down at the floor.
I was on one of my homesteading forums, and a newbie was asking questions about raising chickens, so I gave her the link to here.
I see Vertical Scope did the software update here, I'm an admin on one of their prepper forums.
I'll try to get around more often.

·
Administrator
24,681 Posts
Which one? It's not Homesteading Today because I'm on that one and haven't seen you there. Unless you haven't noticed, the new owners don't care if we share links between their websites. I think they kind of encourage it.