Newbie needs help, please

Discussion in 'Incubation & Hatching' started by dbell, Dec 12, 2012.

1. dbell

dbell New Member

I started my first (ever) eggs on November 19. Today is day 24. I had several that have formed but died. I have 1 in the shell peeping away. Do I leave it alone? The other eggs have no activity at all.

2. Kellence

Kellence New Member

Candle the egg and see if its beak is in the air sack if so I would make a little hole in the air sack but be careful no to catch the chick then just monitor it to see how it's doing

3. dbell

dbell New Member

Thanks for the response. The chick finally did peck a hole and with a little pushing, shoving, pecking and cussing, out it came. Simple amazing to see such a thing. Did I mention I have never done this before!! 1 out of 12, not to good. Must figure out what I did wrong. Ole well..still a pround papa.:D

4. Kellence

Kellence New Member

Congrats on your newborn

5. mstricer

mstricer Junior Member

What kind of incubator was you using? what were your temp and humidity? were they your eggs or someone elses?

6. dbell

dbell New Member

I was using a little giant w/fan and egg turner. I had installed an automatic thermo/hydro also. Temps were 95-101, humidity was about 45%-55% til "lockdown" then 70%-80%. These eggs were not mine. I do not have a rooster. I have gone completely crazy on this egg/chicken thing. I have purchased another little giant bator, a COF 1500 Sportsman (which has 3 dozen eggs cooking now) and a bought a Leahy redwood 646. I must be out of my mind.

7. fuzziebutt

fuzziebutt Flocker

You have become a chicaholic. It happens to the best of us. :p

8. ForeverFeathered

ForeverFeathered New Member