Chicken Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm from Contra Costa County in the East San Francisco Bay Area. I'm totally new to all things chicken. Well, besides eating ones from the supermarket. We have two black Bantam Cochin Frizzles and two Leghorns in the brooder right now, about three and two weeks old, respectively. We are purchasing a coop from Mill Valley Chickens next week (if anyone has experience with them, good or bad, I'd be interested to know), as well as two Ameraucana pullets. (sp?) We will build a run because the predators here are relentless, so unfortunately there's no way we can free range. The Frizzles are already proving to be wonderful pets, and we're hoping the Leghorns are both pullets (sp) because we got them for their laying ability. The Ameraucanas will be sexed before we get them so yay for that.

I'm going to have fun poking around this site absorbing as much information as I can!

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
I have had a tough time learning the hardway about predators. And that includes things you wouldn't expect like this pair of ravens. Go full blast or you will eventually need to clean up dead birds. Most importantly is to enjoy them.

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Hi! Welcome aboard. Sounds like you're off to a great start with the chickens. If you have questions, just ask. Lots of great people here who will help you out. :)

·
Registered
182 Posts