Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am taking in a 1 1/2 yr. old banty hen that will be here very shortly (in less than an hour). She's been a loner for a few months at my cousin's. The rest of the crew was killed by a fox. I have no experience in banty's. My girls she is going to be joining are all big girls: 2 RIR, 3 Barred Rock, 1 Australorp, 1 Astralorp/Leghorn mix. Is there anything different with this breed that I need to be aware of?

I will keep her inside with me tonight in a big bin. I want to be with her at any time she is going to be near the others. I'd like her to be able to explore her new surroundings under supervision which I'll have more time for her to do tomorrow afternoon.

Any advice is so welcome. Thanks! :)

·
Premium Member
4,193 Posts
Good luck! I hope you both have a smooth and easy transition.

"You are never more powerful than in this moment!" Buddha

·
Registered
387 Posts
I don't do anything different with my bantam. She sleeps eats and runs with the big girls. All of my girls are big hens except her and some 2 month old babies. But it may be better if you can to let her free range with your big girls before throwing her in with them.

·
148 Posts
I have 2 polish bantams who are the most sweetest in nature, so easy going, They are bothis in with my chickens which are Isa Browns, RI reds, Australorps and leg horns, they all get along great.... I must admit they are like little ninjas who wont take no crap from my RI red rooster... they put him right in his place, funny to watch considering he is twice their size.....

·
148 Posts
I did place my polish bantams in a run just for themselves where they could see the other birds for about two weeks before I put them in with the rest of my chickens, there was a bit of pecking order going on for awhile but they all sorted it out...

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·