Chicken Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well as the subject said it I'm new to BYC and just got 4 chics would love it if sumbody could tell me what I have. Please an thank you. O annnnd I'm super down for any tips or advice.

image-67068933.jpg

Attachments

·
Banned
162 Posts
It's hard to tell just by looking at them in this photo. Did you get them from the local feed store? Are they all about the same size, or is that dark one much smaller than the others (as it looks like it might be in the picture)?

I will take a stab at it, could be totally wrong:

If the legs on the one with the stripes are green or greenish-slate, then it's an Easter Egger, which is a mutt Ameraucana. It will likely lay greenish eggs (if it's a female.)

The one at the top of the photo is likely a Production Rhode Island Red or perhaps a Golden Comet or Cherry Egger, a commercial layer of brown eggs.

The one at the right looks like it might be a Cornish Cross or perhaps a White Leghorn (would need a closer pic to be sure.)

The dark one, if it is the same size as the others, is probably a Black Star, also a production brown egg layer. If it is much smaller than the others it might be a bantam of some sort, hard to tell what.

Take some more pictures, closer up, head shots, show us feet, better lighting, include pics of combs, we'll try to tell you more.

Have fun!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Awesome thanks. I did get them from a local feed store here in alliance ne. I will take close up pictures off all of them and post shortly thanks again. Kinda nervous about getting started. Haha have never been around or little loan raised any before. City boy that just moved to the country. Would love tips on chickens/raising. I have read a lot of things on here just want to kno as much as I can before they go outside.

·
Banned
162 Posts