Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I'm 20 and I'm looking to make some money on th side. I can't get a normal job because I sow horses for a living and my "here and gone" schedule doesn't allow it. So I thought if I went Into chickens, that would allow me to be gone for a week and have a guy at home feed the automatic feeders and waters. Band collect eggs. I just don't know how many I need and raising from what age and for what. I thought about 100 to start out with, but would be very appreciative about some hard honest info. Thanks y'all . Btw I'm in middle georgia

·
212 Posts
I don't think there is money in chickens, unless maybe if your raising for meat birds, in which I know nothing about, but as far as eggs, I don't make out, I even out with selling just enough eggs to buy feed, IMO

·
Happee ChickenSuperMomma
150 Posts
I'm raising chickens to provide healthy eggs for my family. :)

·
106 Posts
Not much;

If we sold our eggs, which we dont', we might make enough to pay for the feed and supplies, straw; wire; waterer's; electric, etc, we use. But to make money I think would take a larger operation. "Chicken feed ain't chicken feed".:eek:

We have plenty of eggs to eat. We give lots of eggs to friends, neighbors, and elderly. We just enjoy the circus, and there are hardly any bugs in or around our barn.:p

·
I luv Polish & Houdans
137 Posts
I have been involved with poultry since 1998. If you are looking to make money off of chickens or poultry, you are better off investing in the stock market. Every person that I have come across that has had ideas of either raising chickens for profit or creating a farm to raise heritage breeds, none I know have made money and have gave it up within 5 years.