Chicken Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm new at having chickens. I currently have 3 hens and 2 roosters. They are all Silver Sussex. I have 3 fertilized eggs in my homemade incubator that are around 6 days in. I have a fenced in area that i let them roam around in during the day and coup them up at night. Any beginner suggestions?

·
Registered
7 Posts
If you can keep them off the front porch during the day....you won't step in poop when you walk out the door.lol

·
34 Posts
If you have a chicken house(coop) thats great. If not, use either a rabbit or ferret cage from the pet store. I had to use a rabbit cage before we built the coop outside. :)

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks! I am keeping it simple. I have them in a closed pen at night and a larger pen during the day so no worries about stepping in poop on the porch! Lol

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Can anyone tell me what this black spot looks like? I bought my chickens as adults so I don't know if they have ever been vaccinated.
Thanks,
Brandee

Attachments

·
Not so Junior-Junior Member
120 Posts
It's probably just a scab. It could have been pecked by another chicken. Keep an eye on it, it should go away in day or two. You could rub a bit of Triple Antibiotic Creme on it if you want. (Neosporine, but without pain reliever. Nothing ending in caine)

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I have one more question. My roosters combs turn purple on the back side in the late evening. During the day they are a beautiful red. I live in Mississippi and it very hot and humid here. I have a box fan that I leave on all the time in their pen. Any ideas why they turn purple and feel cool?
Thanks,
Brandee

Attachments

·
Not so Junior-Junior Member
120 Posts
Brandee3 said: