Chicken Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to being a chicken owner. We have had our chickens for about 9 mounths now. I have a Road Inland Red that seems to have a neck full of water. She has a mass the size of a small watermelon on her chest area. I can move it around and it feels like a water ballon. Is this just food and water that has not passed yet, or is this something I sould be worried about?
Also she is looking really ragged. I'm thinking this is because she is going to moult soon?? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
Erik said:
Hello, I am new to being a chicken owner. We have had our chickens for about 9 mounths now. I have a Road Inland Red that seems to have a neck full of water. She has a mass the size of a small watermelon on her chest area. I can move it around and it feels like a water ballon. Is this just food and water that has not passed yet, or is this something I sould be worried about?
Also she is looking really ragged. I'm thinking this is because she is going to moult soon?? Thanks in advance.
Mine get nice and full during the day. As long as she is emptying it each day, it is like mine. Wondering what EV says..

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I don't smell anything bad, but she does have a messy bottom that we have to clean once- twice a week. How do you check if it is sour crop?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·