Chicken Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my first ever baby chicks five days ago. The first day they were all very sweet and I picked them up one at a time and held them gently. On the second they they started to run a bit when I went to change their water bowl. Now every time I enter they room they run and hide behind their feeder and act scared to death! Is there anything I can do to keep them from being afraid? Is there something I did wrong? I'm a noob and have no idea.

·
Registered
87 Posts
I would narrate everything I would do around my chicks as I did it. Like "hi guys! Just here to change your water or give you some food, adjust your heat, etc.." And try not to rush when around them. Keep handling them even though they can be noisy about it when they're that little! They will pay you back for it in the end, I promise! Also, it helps to have food or treats on hand when handling them!

·
I luv Polish & Houdans
137 Posts
Yup. Talking to your chicks helps them associate you. Baby type, cutesy tones usualy scare chicks. I find just talk to them usuing a normal voice works best. When you put down their food, stick around till they come up to you. You can even take your finger and tap the feeder or the waterer so the chicks associate you with food. Giving them treats work.