Chicken Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
336 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to chickens and I heard a lot of stuff about molting but I don't know what it is can u please help me figure it out

·
Registered
336 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
And when they shed their feathers do they go completely bald or they just shed and grow back over a long time

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Takes a long while for the molt to finish. The pin feathers (on Sophie's belly in pic) are really painful to them. When all is done though, boy are they soft!!!

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
Oh my, I knew they molt but I didn't know they would look like that. I assumed it was like parrots. They molt one feather at a time so they don't look bald. So at what age is their first molt?

·
Premium Member
4,193 Posts
It should be like parrots. I'm thinking that much molt is indicative of something else. Broody, mites etc. it's not natural for them to be naked.

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Sophie has no mites. She just molted from her belly all the way around to her butt. Her feathers took awhile to grow in. It was her first molt and fortunately her more recent molt hasn't left her so "naked." She has never been broody either. If anything, she used to act more like a roo trying to mount the other girls.

·
A Round American Woman
735 Posts
Every chicken molts a little differently. I have had ones that lose one feather at a time, and you really can't tell they are molting. Then I have had the molt here and there, where they will lose all the feathers in one section, grow them it, and then lose them in another section. They look funny walking around with no tail feathers, or just one tail feather.