Chicken Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ended up with 4 Malaysian serama eggs. Can anyone give me some info on the breed? I usually only raise silkies :-/

·
Registered
513 Posts
I'm not an expert, but from what I've read, they are small, fairly tame, and very intolerant to the cold.

·
Registered
1,118 Posts
Good luck with that! Serama eggs are a bit... uh... fickle. I spent all winter trying to hatch some. I finally got it down but wow, was it an effort at first. Of course if you already have experience hatching that helps. However Seramas have this really annoying habit of developing until hatch day and then not bothering to come out of the egg. I guess it is normal for the breed but eesh, it is frustrating. They are the smallest chicken in the world and come in 4 official class sizes. You'll more than likely get chicks that vary.

They're very friendly, especially the roosters, and come in every color under the sun so you never know what you're going to get. They also come in silkied, frizzled, and feather-footed varieties which can be fun. Mine fared the winter just fine with an insulated coop. You just have to have enough of those warm bodies (or a heater) to go around. :) Fortunately since they are so small they can come in if it becomes to bitter cold without too much effort.

I also haven't had a problem with any fighting and got my origionals from a woman who has had a number of roosters housed together since fall trying to get rid of them.... Of course they were from the same hatch and probably wouldn't be so amiable if they didn't know each other as chicks but that's normal for most roosters...