Lights for the coop

Discussion in 'General Chicken Discussion' started by tennbowhunter, Jan 25, 2020.

1. tennbowhunter

tennbowhunter New Member

What are y’all using for light inside the coop at night?
    Thanks
    Steve

2. robin416

robin416 Administrator Staff Member

Nothing. Birds need to sleep just as we do and having lights on during the night would keep them from getting the sleep they need.

Maryellen likes this.

3. tennbowhunter

tennbowhunter New Member

I thought I read in another post that a dim light made them feel safer when you put them up for the night in their coop.
    I’m new to raising chickens so I’m reading as much as I can. I have three right now. I think one is a rooster, one not sure what breed and a buff Orpington

4. Sylie

Sylie Super Moderator Staff Member

On the coldest nights (20 degrees or below) I put a red heat lamp on for them but I have a special set up, heat lamps can be dangerous and special precautions need to be taken. My husband built my coop with a heat lamp in mind, it is surrounded by metal sheeting and small gauge hardware cloth so that if something happens and it blows up it won't set the coop on fire and the shards won't get anywhere near the girls. They can't knock it down or bump into it or anything.
    Chickens don't see well in the dark, almost not at all so the red bulb helps keep things dim enough that they sleep. ( I have an article about chicken eyesight somewhere, it's very interesting, I can look for it if you like).

Black light bulbs work well also if all that you are looking for is a little light in the coop but as for making them feel safe, not really. Being enclosed in their house where they cuddle together is all they need for that.

5. tennbowhunter

tennbowhunter New Member

Ok, So with the plexiglass window on the coop door that should be enough light.
    Just trying to do the best for my girls. They are about 4 months old