Incubation

Discussion in 'General Chicken Discussion' started by Monkeyshines0123, Dec 30, 2012.

1. Ok, so I'm new to incubating my own eggs, grew up on a farm and the hens always did that, if not dad just bought more chickens .
    Dad has been gone now for more than ten years, mom too and I no longer live on the farm . last summer I had 10 nice Buff Orphingtons and a Barred Rock hen, then I lost two hens to the heat, so I had a friend who had a nice Barred Rock rooster which he gave to me, one of my Buff hens then hatched out 2 chicks, Barred Rocks they look like, but I wanted a few more, so I went online and found out how to build an incubator, no way I am paying the price they want for those things, anyway, I built it, tested it out several times, temp seemed to hold steady at between 99 and 100, had a bit of problem with the humidity but seemed to work that out, so I took 7 eggs out of my henhouse, put them in the incubator and carefully took care of them for the proscribed time, 29 day's I think it was not sure but anyway, not a single one hatched !
    My question is, what happened, are they not fertile, the temps and humidity were good for the whole time, I turned the eggs three times a day except for the last three day's, but nothing, the Roo has to be good because I already have two chicks by him, What gives ? Any suggestions ? I thought about buying fertilized eggs online but GEEZ their expensive !
    any help would be nice , thanks

2. 1948daydreamer

1948daydreamer New Member

Hey MS,I think it is 21 days for the eggs to hatch,and your eggs must not have been fertile. You can get a small incubator on Ebay for about $45 that will hold about 20 eggs,and I have used those incubators with very good success.

3. woody

woody New Member