Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all... being a newbie here lol
I just ordered 25 assorted chicks from Murray McMurray's hatchery and they will arrive in about 3 days.
So i have a large tub/box for them and all that but need to know if i need a special lamp to keep them warm or can i use a adjustable desk lamp i have and put in a bulb? just wondered...

·
Registered
468 Posts
Hi! It's best to buy a brooder heat lamp. They suggest red because it's more soothing to the chicks. The whole set up isn't very expensive. Just buy the brooder light with wire cage and red heat bulb. Get a thermometer so you can check the temp. Then lower temp each week. But watch the chicks! They will tell you if they are too hot or cold. I'm a worry wart so I bought the brooder lamp to be sure the chicks are getting what they need. Too hot and they hide far from the lamp, too cold they huddle under it. Put the lamp on one end of the box so they can get away if need be. Watch there water, put some small stones in it so they can't drown. Congratulations on your babies! I bet your excited! Pictures please when they arrive! Check online for ideal chick temperature I believe it's 95 then reduce by 5 each week. But double check that. They will make happy little chick sounds when happy and you will know when they are upset because it's a very different sound. Hope this helps

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·