Chicken Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! I am still new to raising chickens. It's been close to 2 years now and I am learning things every day. I started out with 4 laying hens and now have 35! I have a mixture, BO, silkies, RR, production reds, red and black sex links, EE and just added 5 baby polish. I also have a beautiful Roo and a cripple Roo I call Gimpman. In fact, all my girls have names. I also have 2 turkeys. I don't eat my chickens because they are pets. But I do eat and sell my eggs.

I'm a native, born and raised in Florida. I have a cat, 3 dogs and a parrot. My husband and I also raise bees, for the honey and we have a bat house that has about 50 residents. We have a nice size garden which mostly grows weeds!

I am a city girl turned country and loving it! Everyday is a blessing! I have 7 grandchildren, all boys!

I'm also retired but have become a published author with 14 books under my belt.

·
Flocker
1,588 Posts
Hello and welcome and a bat house? Is it somewhere they have taken over, or did you build it for them? Blows my mind!!! :eek: And you have learned chicken math, start with a few, and end up with a flock and a half!! Love it!! :D

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Hi! Welcome. :) Guess you discovered how addicting chickens are already. :D Mine too are pets. I have 9. Love every single one of them. Two of mine (Ameraucana & Australorp) are broody right now so they're being major nest box hogs. No chance of chicks though since there is no roo. Good thing my duck isn't laying yet! Have a male & female and if those 2 girls of mine discovered a duck egg without my knowing ... :eek: (I do not want any more ducks! Two are more than mess enough for me.) Thinking I'm going to have to pull those 2 out of the main coop and put them in the small coop tractor instead. Limited space and NO nest box. ;)

·
Registered
182 Posts