Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! I'm brand new to raising chickens and currently have six 1 1/2 week old RIR chicks and three days ago bought six grown chickens (2 white longhorns, 2 RIR, and 2 black orpingtons). I was looking for a chicken coop on Craigslist and they were selling the coop and chickens together. Now, they said the chickens were all a year old but none have layed yet. For the previous owners or me. I don't expect them to lay for me yet because of the move but I am concerned that they are a year old and never layed for the previous owners.

So I'm wondering if maybe the age is incorrect? I'll attach some pics and hopefully someone can give me a better idea of how old they are or what to expect. I live in central AZ so cold has not been a factor. Maybe we still aren't getting enough hours of daylight though? Thanks in advance!!

·
Premium Member
3,157 Posts
I would assume that the previous owner was not giving them layer pellets. Their combs are pretty pail. I would give them decent feed, cracked corn, scratch mix. And wait a couple weeks. They should lay for you in now time.

·
chicken bum
136 Posts
Apyl said:
I would assume that the previous owner was not giving them layer pellets. Their combs are pretty pail. I would give them decent feed, cracked corn, scratch mix. And wait a couple weeks. They should lay for you in now time.
Is cracked corn different then scratch? Scratch is NOT cracked corn?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·