Chicken Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Vintage Featherless Biped
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I want them all! I want all. the. chickens. Not happening, of course. So now what?

My nature is a dichotomy--half practical, half dreamer. The practical half studies laying rates, production ratios, market value of a rare pure breed, confinement adaptation, etc. The smart stuff.

And then I see a chicken with gorgeous black eyes, or a beard, or a floofy tophat, and off I go again. As an artist, I know creativity can be enhanced by constraints or restrictions. In the chicken world, the only constraint is my wallet--can't afford $30 a chick. But all the other factors? Wide open.

Weather here is a factor--we get winter lows in the teens, a couple feet of snow a year, and summer highs in the nineties. Elevation 7200 ft and very dry. They'll have to be confined, as our predators range from bears to roaming dogs.

We need 6 eggs a day. So I don't need the super-layers. I'm okay with butchering--a few at a time--so a breed with a little heft would be good, but is not crucial. I want a few broodies if in a mix, or if only one breed, a broody one.

I want to raise one breed and work to improve it from the hatchery quality I'll start with, but at the same time, I love seeing all the colors and kinds of chickens. My space to work with is around 25ft x 35ft, for both coop & run, so not a lot of space for multiple breeding pens. Nothing's built yet, but I have building plans for a 10 x 12 walk-in, shed-roof coop, with a walk-in run. (We're both tall and retirement age, so no stooping to work.) Allowing room for future chicks, a grow-out pen, and a bachelor pad, my limit average is 15 to 20.

This is not an original problem--I know. But I am paralyzed with indecision! Maybe I'll order a batch of Cackle Rainbow Layers and let fate decide for me. Seriously leaning there, until I see a breed I want--it might not be in that batch!