Chicken Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to chickens but my wife had a small flock before we were married for a year or so. This journey started last summer when after talking about wanting chickens again for a couple years she just "rescued" 3 young birds. So I got to work building a small coop to house them. The rescues all turned out to be roosters, 2 westshires and an americana. I figured if we were going to have birds it was not going to be just pet roosters so I built a bigger coop with a hen house and got some hens last December. The girls include 2 astralorps, 2 americanas, 2 rhode island reds, a white lace, 3 banties, and a bantam. Now we had hens and problems, the americana rooster attacks the hens and the westshires fight constantly. We got the americana and 1 of the westshires new homes. 2 of the banties went broody at the end of winter so we let them keep a dozen eggs and ended up with 2 chicks. Currently the last rooster and one of the banties are seperated from the flock, the rooster for body slaming thechens and chicks into the side of the coop and pecking them on the heads as well as seeking out and attacking my 4 year old daughter during yard time for the birds. The banty is seperated for egg pecking and following the chicks pecking them around and fighting the mamas. That about sums up where I am now, sorry for going so long. If anyone has any advice about the 2 prisoners I would like to be able to reintigrate them if possible but I am out of ideas on how.

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Hello and welcome. I'm of no help with the roos since I don't have any. Lots of others on here do though and will be able to help you out.

·
Registered
182 Posts