hen or roo?

Discussion in 'What Breed/Gender is This?' started by duffala, Nov 29, 2012.

1. duffala

duffala New Member

I am new to chickens. This is our baby silkie its around 1.5 months old. I know they are hard to sex. Anyone have any guesses? its getting some new fuzz. I added a pic of its parents because i think they are gorgeous.

603720_285369934901384_1532031551_n.jpg

ForumRunner_20121129_145506.png

ForumRunner_20121129_145444.png

ForumRunner_20121129_145421.png

2. 7chicks

7chicks New Member

I'm of no help here but can't not stop and say, how absolutely adorable!!!

3. duffala

duffala New Member

It's okay, and thank you ;c)

4. Lissa

Lissa Junior Member

I am fairly new to chickens too. I did notice when we had our chicks, the boys were slower getting their feathers in. I had 2 roos (1 is a silkie) in my bunch and they were last to get their pretty feathers in. Not sure if this is the norm though. My silkie started crowing around 3.5-4 months old. Good luck! Adorable pictures though!

5. CrazyBirdLady

CrazyBirdLady Junior Member

So cute! I hatched 6 Silkies 5 weeks ago....2 black, 2 buff (I think) and 2 gray. I also have 2 Bantams, Willie and Millie (Mille De Fluer) when I brought the silkie chicks to the coop Millie, who I was sure was a hen CROWED! Over and over....so funny!!!!!

6. duffala

duffala New Member

I wanna hatch some closer to spring. What incubator do you use?

7. mistinichole

mistinichole New Member

Just wanted to say they are soooo cute... I want some!!!:p

8. CrazyBirdLady

I used the Little Giant with egg turner. Got it at Tractor Supply $80 for both. I've hatched 22 eggs....very stressful! I've never hatched all the eggs, always a few

9. CrazyBirdLady

Oops, always a few who don't hatch.....

10. blueggchick

blueggchick New Member

So cute! I have hatched some silkie out last year and could tell the sex closer to 4 mos of age.

11. piglett

piglett Senior Member

the boys had streamers on their heads?