Chicken Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to raising Silkie Chicken and excited! I bought 8 chicks and cannot keep extra roosters. Do you think it s a lovely rooster?
He is 11 weeks, stand tall and the red on his nose came out suddenly in the last 2 weeks.
B712016A-FB7A-4067-A702-57A88FE180BE.jpeg

·
Administrator
18,666 Posts
If it walks away from you and looks like it's all legs then it's more than likely a boy. 11 weeks is even a bit young for me to make a solid statement one way or the other.

If you pick it up and it whines like a little girl, then that raises the stakes to being a boy.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If it walks away from you and looks like it's all legs then it's more than likely a boy. 11 weeks is even a bit young for me to make a solid statement one way or the other.

If you pick it up and it whines like a little girl, then that raises the stakes to being a boy.
He always run away, whines often and guard in front of the door. He stand tall all the time and watches around! Lol

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

Oh when we try to hold him, he wiggles his way to be let go and run away. He is a fast little bugger

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I am thinking of finding a family for him (maybe) ;) . My daughter gets really attached and I can’t keep more than 5 out of 8. My chicks are very docile and have been raised with a lot of TLC They will make another family happy!

·
Administrator
18,666 Posts
Since I no longer raise chickens I thought I could keep in practice by identifying them for others. Guess yours won't be one of them.

And just so you know. I had one keep me guessing until she laid her first egg at nine months old. So, there are some out there that can have you vacillating back and forth and since Silkie roos don't always crow young it can be a challenge when the other cues are missing.

·
Registered
8 Posts