Help please, attacked by opossum

Discussion in 'Emergencies, Illness, Meds & Cures' started by Desiree M, Aug 5, 2020.

1. Desiree M

Desiree M New Member

10 days ago my friends chicken was attacked by a possum. I was a vet tech for over 15 years so I took her home to see if I could get her better but she still will not eat on her own and she remains upside down with her head twisted upside down as well. It's like her equilibrium is off or something she Bob's her head round and round her eyes like go in circles. I guess I want to know is there any hope or should I just give up now and euthanize her

2. Sylie

Sylie Super Moderator Staff Member

Can you get me a picture of her real quick? Let me see what is going on and I may be able to help but it doesn't sound good (just being honest) but lets wait on that judgement until I've seen the pictures

Desiree M likes this.

3. Sylie

You may need to make a couple more posts to be allowed to post pictures though so I'll ask you a few questions to answer to up your post count.

1. Does she have any open wounds?
    2. Is she drinking?
    3. You say she won't eat on her own, does that mean she will eat if you hand feed her?

Desiree M likes this.
  4. robin416

robin416 Administrator Staff Member

That sounds very neurological. What are you feeding her? She could be deficient in necessary vitamins.

Try dosing her with vitamin E with selenium. When I have a bird down I use Kaytee Exact hand rearing formula for cage birds. It has most everything they need and can be mixed as thin or thick as you need.

Quick question: Are you able to stop the spasm by holding her neck for a moment? You might also be able to relieve some of the stress by gently massaging her neck.

Desiree M likes this.
  5. Desiree M

Desiree M New Member

20200805_200654.jpg

6. Desiree M

Desiree M New Member