Featured Help, help! I believe my silkie hatched an egg and the chick died

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by dmkrieg, Feb 5, 2018.

1. dmkrieg

dmkrieg Member

Hello everyone, I went out to check on my chickens and noticed a dead baby chick in a stall with only silkie hens and a rooster. I have never hatched out babies before since I’m very new to chickens. But I do know my silkie hen has been sitting on a nest full of eggs. We have other hens in another area that lay plenty of large eggs so we just let the silkie keep theirs for the most part in their area. I would love to have her hatch out any fertile eggs, i just don’t have an incubator for her. Also I worry about the barn being too cold. I live in Missouri and we have such drastic swing in temps. Should I bring her and the nesting box in the house and keep her and the eggs under a heat light for now? IMG_0682.jpg . Any advice you can provide is greatly appreciated.

2. seminolewind

seminolewind Scrooged Staff Member

I don't know, I guess I would bring her in or put a heat lamp on her since the chick looks good except for dead. Poor thing.

dmkrieg likes this.

3. dmkrieg

dmkrieg Member

I put her in a huge rubber tub and put a heat light on her. I couldn’t figure out what on earth happened. I thought maybe they got too cold. It blended in with the shavings in the stall and I barely saw it. When it hit me, I thought holy cow I don’t even know what to expect when they have chicks. I’ve gotten some from feed store and raised them but never hatched anything out.

4. dmkrieg

dmkrieg Member

Btw... the tub is in my house so I don’t have to worry about the cold.

5. Steinwand

Steinwand Active Member

Is she still sitting on the eggs?

6. dmkrieg

dmkrieg Member

Yep and even when I moved her she wouldn’t budge. There are a bunch of them too. I didn’t realize how many she had all tucked in there.

Steinwand and boskelli1571 like this.
  7. dmkrieg

dmkrieg Member