Chicken Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there folks. I live in Hinton, Alberta, Canada. Just looking into chickens and seriously thinking about a small backyard flock. Wife and kids love the idea ... fresh eggs and a couple in the freezer just seem to good to pass up. I'm a missionary pastor from west Virginia and every little bit helps when you got mouths to feed and more month than money!!!

Looking at a few breeds and places to order/buy from here in western Canada ... Does anyone have any input on these choices as far as 1) hard winters ... 2) small area, confinement ... 3) kid and wife friendly ... I know I'm looking at dual purpose birds and am really interested in Barred Rocks, Rhode I Reds, and Astrualorps. Any suggestions and by the way I have found loads of very helpful info. on the forum already.

Shane D.

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
Hi and welcome. I don't know much about breeds but I have 2 silkies and a polish hatchling. Silkies are known to be docile. So they will be a pet to you and your family. The are bantams so the eggs are a lil smaller than norm.

·
I luv Polish & Houdans
137 Posts
Hi neighbour. I'm in Parkland County. I know many people that are into the Chanteclers. Nothing wrong with any of the 3 breeds you mentioned. As for sales, you are lucky in that you are in Alberta. Alberta has become chicken country over the last few years and it's still growing. There are several sales coming up in the next month.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Get barred Plymouth Rock hens or California white they are cold hardy and are very nice oh they lay lots of eggs

·
173 Posts
Be careful of breeds with single combs. If it gets very cold the combs will freeze. Chanteclers were bred to be cold weather hardy and Americanas should do well also. Peacombed or cushion combed breeds will be better for extreme cold weather.

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts