Chicken Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to this whole chicken thing. By new I mean I never really wanted chickens, but now I'm saddled with two of them. It was completely out of the blue. A friend of ours had to relocate and didn't want to move her chickens, so she asked if I wanted them. At first I wanted to say no. I never really wanted chickens and wasn't exactly interested. However, the thought of two chickens needing to be rehomed and quite possibly ending up someone's dinner saddened me. So that was it. I just had to take them. I'd never even seen them before, so I had no idea what I was in for.

I have no idea what kind of chickens we have. They aren't laying right now. Then again, I can't blame them. They have no coop. From the research I've done, their pen is much to small. They stand around all day in mud with no fresh water to speak of. I don't even know what I'm supposed to feed them. I know they haven't exactly been well fed and we haven't been able to pull the money together to make them a proper coop or run or get them proper feed. This whole thing was completely dropped on our heads. Had we expected the chickens we could have had everthing ready for them. Right now we're looking for supplies to build their coop and run, preferably recycled and cheap. We may even be able to use some of the supplies from the current set-up. I just hate that the poor hens are living in such conditions. They really deserve better.

Of course, now I can't wait until we can move onto a big plot of land and can get some more chickens! I know we've just begun and we're still in the process of getting our new girls settled, but it's gotten me hopeful for the future!

Anyhow, I know this is long-winded, but I'm excited about starting this journey!

·
Registered
39 Posts