Chicken Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm brand new to chickens! So new my babies haven't arrived yet! They'll be here the week of June. I'm so excited. My brooder is almost complete and we break ground on the coop tomorrow (Friday 5-24). I cannot wait!

Got any advice for a newbie?

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Hi! Welcome aboard! What kind are you getting?
Advice - Keep them warm as babies. Spoil them lots. Take lots of pictures. They grow up so fast! Have lots of fun! Chickens are extremely addicting! :D

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Awe your babies are adorable! I ordered 2 polish hens, 1 Rhode island red, 1 Sicilian buttercup, and a meal maker (I believe they are red sex link) you're supposed to donate all the eggs from this one to the needy. :)

I'm already planning my next order haha!

Here's a photo of my brooder (still being made)

ForumRunner_20130524_145429.jpg

ForumRunner_20130524_145448.jpg

Attachments

·
Registered
513 Posts
Awe your babies are adorable! I ordered 2 polish hens, 1 Rhode island red, 1 Sicilian buttercup, and a meal maker (I believe they are red sex link) you're supposed to donate all the eggs from this one to the needy. :)

I'm already planning my next order haha!

Here's a photo of my brooder (still being made)
That brooder is soooo cute!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
That brooder is soooo cute!
:eek: Thanks so much! I am so excited. We were supposed to break ground on my coop today but that didn't happen. If they (my hubby and our handy man) keep putting it off it's going to get bigger and bigger! I have already went from wanting one just big enough for my 5 to making sure I have enough room to grow my flock to 11 or 12 hehe ;)

·
977 Posts
Hello! Great idea of going bigger with the coop! I did not do that and now I have 5 coops! Also a duck pen! Love my feathered babies! Enjoy!

·
Flocker
1,588 Posts