Chicken Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm a newbie. Just ordered a bunch of chicks from a hatchery. Is it bad that I ordered from a hatchery? I've seen a few comments from folks about the hatchery chicks not being a good idea.

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
Welcome! All mine are from hatchery. They are ok to order from unless your looking for show quality birds. Then breeders would be better.

·
Registered
468 Posts
hi :) it really depends on what quality bird your looking for. hatchery is wonderful for pet quality birds! but if your looking to show your birds or want breeder quality birds then you would go to a breeder. going to a breeder does not insure show quality birds either. if your looking for show quality, you will buy from a breeder who sells only show quality birds. in that case your looking at about 85 to 120.dollars per bird depending on quality. breeder show quality chicks are around 20 dollars per chick. so it really depends on you. hatchery birds will not usually meet the standard of perfection for the bird. meaning color could be slightly off, toe number could be incorrect, or crest could be slightly different. or very slight difference. but none of that matters much unless your looking to show your birds! if you're not showing than you need not worry about it! you can get fine pet quality birds that will bring much joy! so it all depends on what your looking for. nothing wrong with going to a hatchery. you will see the chicks will be beautiful and make wonderful pets! hope this helps and congrats on your new chicks! please post lots of picts when they arrive! can't wait to see them!

·
172 Posts
Hatchery's couldn't stay in business if they didn't provide a good quality product. But if you can afford it and just have to have that Rolls Royce; then you may just have to buy from a breeder. On the other hand, there are some great deals from people selling eggs and chicks out there.

·
Registered