Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
I am new to this and want to get started with egg layers. I want colorful and friendly. I was thinking about Easter Eggers and Amerucanas. Any suggestions? Also, what are good online hatcheries to use?
Thanks
Beth

·
Registered
468 Posts
Hi and welcome. I'm also new to this. I have two 1month old chicks and a 2 month old chick and getting one more two month old ordering Friday. I suggest you find a hatchery or breeder not too far from where you live so the chicks don't have too far to travel. I ordered mine from a breeder around 2 1/2 hours away and my chicks came the next morning. I think the closer it might be a bit easier of a trip for them. As for breeds because I'm new I can't really answer that but there are some great web sites that talk about breeds. Also I've seen a few that gives you a quiz as for what you want and asks several questions then pairs you up with a breed! I think I saw that on my pet chicken. Com. It was kinda cool! As for me I choose silkies. The first time I saw them I was in love! They actually look furry because the feathers don't have barbs. But if your really after egg production, you wouldn't want silkies. Just take a look online at some breeds or take the chicken quiz and see what's suggested for you. When you get your babies post lots of pictures ok? I wish you the best!

·
Yaya
284 Posts
Energyvet said:
Oh, the siblings, Mo and Owen. 20 # each. Haven't been kittens in 10 years. Lol. I'll change it again.
I'm a cat person. actually I'm a person person, but cats come in number two, then maybe chickens. if you saw me with my dogs you'd accuse me of lying. I love them to death, too.

image-378513335.jpg

one of my favorite species

Attachments

·
Premium Member
4,193 Posts