Chicken Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to keeping chickens. My son has Asperger's, he becomes obsessed with certain topics. He has always loved animals, his newest obsession is chickens. He reads interesting books and facts about chickens constantly. I finally agreed to getting getting 3-4 and now we are up to 6. Buffy is a Buff Orphington, Amy is an Americauna, Little Red Riding Hood is a Production Red, Sylvia is a Silver Laced Wyandotte, Pearl is a Black Australorp, and Dottie is a Barred Plymouth Rock. They are 2 weeks old.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
DottieB said:
Hello, I am new to keeping chickens. My son has Asperger's, he becomes obsessed with certain topics. He has always loved animals, his newest obsession is chickens. He reads interesting books and facts about chickens constantly. I finally agreed to getting getting 3-4 and now we are up to 6. Buffy is a Buff Orphington, Amy is an Americauna, Little Red Riding Hood is a Production Red, Sylvia is a Silver Laced Wyandotte, Pearl is a Black Australorp, and Dottie is a Barred Plymouth Rock. They are 2 weeks old.
Welcome to this fun and crazy world. Your sun will love them. Chicks are best, they will be so tame and used to you.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Great names! And your pics are really good too.... I have a hard time with chick pics cuz they just won't stand still for me!

Nice that you're doing this with your son. Sounds like you are getting sucked into the chicken bug a little yourself :D

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes, I am enjoying this project. Even more than I expected. I am having fun researching and designing our chicken coop. I am about half way done. My biggest concern is about 1 of my dogs, half black mouth cur/half black lab, he acts like he would like to eat them.

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
DottieB said: