Chicken Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all. I am new to chickens and have lurked the board for a while. Finally I am making the step out. I live at high altitude in the mountains of colorado. I have erected a coop which I hoped was predator proof. It is 4x8x7, with an enclosed run.
When I started out I had 5 Rhodes and 5 barred rocks with a Orpington rooster as well. I did not fully enclose the run and ended up loosin 6 birds to a local dog.
From there I replaced my fence, and full enclosed the run. The wire is buried 15 inches down and curved outward with rocks on top then the dirt was compacted back in. Everything but the gate was locked in and tied together. Then a fox struck and killed and ate the insides of 2 young birds I bought to replace the dogs damage.
This fox had squeezed through the pop door, so I installed a locking latch and everything was good until this morning when I interrupted a raccoons meal. It had managed to snag a bird through a 4 inch gap in the full size door. I have filled the crack with a 2x4 and blocked where the **** could possibly get through.
So I have had a rough start but I am still lovin it. I have 2 original hens who should be laying any day and still have my roo named sarge.

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Hi! Welcome aboard. :) Gosh did you ever have a rough start! I'm glad you kept with having chickens. Its so eggciting when you get that first egg. :D I still get eggcited over first eggs from any newbie's. Must be beautiful where you are located! That's one place I've always wanted to be able to go just for snowmobiling. :)

·
Premium Member
3,157 Posts
Hi and Welcome. You'r going to want to secure your coop so there is no place more than 1/2" space. Otherwise a **** can still get its grubby little hand in there and pull out another in pieces.

·
Registered
182 Posts