Chicken Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new here too - my chicks arrived three weeks ago today. We got 15 broilers, 2 Americaunas, 4 Wyandottes, and a free mystery chick. I lost 3 chicks in the first 3 days. Everything has been going well since then and the broilers are getting huge. They also look like they have diarrhea so I tried washing in the warm water as suggested here. Not very easy, but it helped. My problem is this afternoon I found one of the ones with a nice washed butt dead. Could I have stressed it out? I cleaned out the brooder - a wading pool surrounded by wire fencing - and discovered they haven't been scratching and aerating the shavings very well. Could it have died from bacteria? I feel so bad. This is my first time with chickens. The broilers are in a wading pool and my layers are separate in a horse trough. The layers have no problems and poop looks more normal, but the broilers are more poopy. All the chickens look healthy and are learning to cluck and have a good appetite. I was really surprised to find one dead. Any ideas?

·
Banned
825 Posts
Although I have not raised any "broilers" ( Cornish-X ), I have read that it is not uncommon for them to drop-dead from Heart-Failure OR Ascites ( basically Edema ). They also tend to have leg-problems....as I have read.
PERHAPS....someone with experience raising "broilers" can answer your question more effectively.

GOOD LUCK with the others !
-ReTIRED- :)

·
Registered
1,118 Posts
It's not that unusual to loose a chick at random every now and then. If it had diarrhea as you said it may have just died of dehydration. Try putting some electrolytes in their water. It helps with keeping their immune systems up when they're dealing with these issues. Otherwise reTIRED is right. If your broilers are Cornish X then it is pretty common for them to have heart issues and the like. Good luck with the rest!

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·