Chicken Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this fourm and new to chickens in general. My wife and I picked up six chicks from local feed store. They warned us that they didn't know what the sex of any of them were. After researching ways to determine sex I quickly realized how hard it is to figure out. So we will wait to see which ones lay eggs lol. Now we want to know what breeds they are. I noticed that 4 out of the 6 chicks have curled feathers. After googling chickens with curled feathers the only thing that comes up is Frizzle and Frazzle. We would love some feedback and best guesses.
Thanks

Attachments

·
Administrator
18,666 Posts
You have one Silkie. The second pic reminds me of a Brabanter but with the frizzled feathers I could be wrong.

That third pic is absolutely adorable.

On the Silkie, keep an eye on it. It doesn't look as bright eyed as it should.

Sexing bantams is not possible because of their size and possible harm in checking so they are never sold sexed.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You have one Silkie. The second pic reminds me of a Brabanter but with the frizzled feathers I could be wrong.

That third pic is absolutely adorable.

On the Silkie, keep an eye on it. It doesn't look as bright eyed as it should.

Sexing bantams is not possible because of their size and possible harm in checking so they are never sold sexed.
Thanks for the reply.
Which one is the Silkie?

·
Registered
886 Posts
I’m in love with that first little stinker! They’re all adorable but I can’t get over him/her! You REALLY got lucky in some cool genetics right out of the gate.
[mention]danathome [/mention] can tell you some more about the feathering too I’m sure- he has some frizzle and frazzle chickens. They’re all adorable but yep, I can already see that first one being a favorite!

Congrats and welcome!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·