Chicken Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just noticed one of my hens has some swelling on one side of her face. I'm new to this what should I do?

·
Administrator
20,616 Posts
Pick up some Tylan at the feed store, put her on it for ten days. It should resolve if its just a mild infection.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
image-4288862137.jpg

Getting a close look at her there is a mass of fleas there. I got my birds at auction and have been fighting fleas scence bringing them home

Attachments

·
Administrator
20,616 Posts
What did you end up treating them with? If it was DE that will not kill off the existing bugs. And if you are using plain sand, its also going to take time. The birds have to be willing to dust bathe in the sand quite frequently to rid themselves of an existing infestation.

That is the typical sign of an infected sinus so the Tylan will be needed. These can be a real challenge to clear up since its a closed system and its really difficult to remove the solid matter if this has been going on for a while.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
This just appeared yesterday afternoon. At noon I sit with them and feed them pieces of Apple and if it was swollen then I would have noticed because she is one that sits in my lap to get treats ( maybe a little bit spoiled)

·
Administrator
20,616 Posts
That's very positive on the length of time. I got a flock of Dutch from another breeder, one of his girls had a swollen sinus like that but it had been that way too long. She ended up having surgery to remove the solid matter in her sinus. So, fingers crossed this will clear quickly.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
What is the best way to rid chickens of fleas? My 3 dogs are on Trifecas so I'm not worried about them but I get them on me so I know what my girls are going through.

·
Administrator
20,616 Posts