Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ordered chicks form a hatchery. Everyone in this flock is the same age, but one of them looks like its about 2 weeks old, while others look about the age they are (about 5 to 6 weeks old). She doesn't seem sick and gets along in the flock, but I do have older chickens I hope to integrate them with and worry "Chigger" (the runt) may take a beat down on the pecking order. It could be the breed, ( don't know what breed it is yet), but has anyone else ever had a runt?
I will try to post a pic. ( I'm new to this app and still learning how to operate it). Ok looks like I got a decent pic. The little one is the runt and the one to the left (brown) and the white one are all the same age. I did pick up Chigger, and put her with the other one for comparison and even though she's small, she still managed to jump out of my hand and fly to the ground without a problem.

Attachments

·
Registered
772 Posts
Is it a bantam?

·
Registered
764 Posts
I bought two red pullets that are supposed to be RIR but I'm not sure. But I had gotten them and 4 columbian rocks and one of the red ones is still tiny! Everyone else has tons of feathers and is changing colors while she is just a fluff ball and barely starting to get wings and tail feathers. Her overall size has gotten bigger but not at the rate of her "siblings"

She seems healthy and eats and drinks well just tiny. I had expected to lose her but she's still going strong! Hopefully she just catches up one day.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
As far as I know she is not a Bantam. She was part of a "brown egg layer" assortment package.
Sounds like I may not be the only one. As long as she continues to do ok, I guess there is no reason to worry. Thanks all.

·
Registered
1,118 Posts