Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi we are contemplating getting a couple of ducks? We have 6 chickens and six more on order. We love our chickens. Is there any advantages or disadvantages to having ducks?

·
Registered
8 Posts
I am new to raising ducks but I have found out over the last few days that they are VERY messy, but they are really fun to watch and they have great personalities! Mine are about two weeks old.

·
Premium Member
3,157 Posts
They are fun to watch, taste good, and give eggs. Yes they are messy at first until you figure out what works for you. I currently have 7 ducks with 7 more in the incubator and 10 more to be added once this hatch is done.

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
Have one week in now with the 2 I brought home last Friday. They are 4 1/2 weeks old. Mine are Pekin so they are growing faster than dandelions on the lawn! Very sweet and ya, they're messy but they're worth it. No harder to care for than chickens really. After their bath/swim yesteday, they found the warm radiator in short order. Stood there the whole time drying themselves. Smart little buggers! When they were done, they went and laid down together on their towel I had for them when there swim time was done.

Attachments

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
and we have DUCKS .....

Finally.... went to get three ducks at TSC. They were on sale $1.50 each.
Came home with 7 ducks and 6 more chicks. oh boy!:)

·
227 Posts
Thats a dangerous place TSC!!!! LOL I went to get the minimum 6 and just had to have a couple more. One day old chicks are just way to cute! Good thing I don't have a place for ducks. :D

·
Registered
130 Posts
7chicks said: